The Road Less Traveled Conference

An NCPTT Divine Disorder Conference and partnership of National Center for Preservation Technology and Training, Kohler Foundation Inc. and the John Michael Kohler Arts Center.


Scholars, artists, preservationists, educators, activists, art historians, collectors and devotees will delve into the complex subject of artist-built environments during a three-day conference, September 26-28, 2017, at the John Michael Kohler Arts Center in Sheboygan, WI.

The conference, titled The Road Less Traveled, is the third Divine Disorder program of the National Park Service’s National Center for Preservation Technology and Training (NCPTT). In addition to the Arts Center and NCPTT, Kohler Foundation Inc. is a hosting partner for the conference.

Through a variety of performances, panels, and workshops, attendees will share new ideas and broaden the collective knowledge and appreciation of this unique style of art making that is the focus of a yearlong series of exhibitions at the Arts Center.

Please email with any questions regarding this conference.


Featuring luminaries from the field as well as emerging creative professionals, this dynamic conference spans disciplines and perspectives relevant to the understanding of environments both in-situ and no longer in place. Topics will include the curation of site components, current research and conservation methods, artists’ responses to various sites, issues in community engagement and historic designation, and site stewardship.

Among the highlights are a podcast from Benjamen Walker’s Theory of Everything reflecting on a road trip to artist-built sites in Wisconsin, artist Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe’s performance of a sound piece specific to Emery Blagdon’s Healing Machine, and a think tank discussion of the future of Eddie Owens Martin’s magnificent site, Pasaquan, now that conservation of the artist environment is complete.  


Karen Patterson
Valerie Rousseau
Katie Jentleson
Lisa Stone
Dr. Iain Jackson
Annalise Taylor
Jennifer Joy Jameson
Laura Bickford
Cricket Harbeck
Meghan Mackey
John Salhus
Sam Gappmayer
Terri Yoho  
Shari Cavin
Charles Russell
Fred Fussell
Dr. Charles Smith

Rich Gabe
Ronald Harvey
Hannah Blunt
Anne Pryor
Gary LaFluer
Dennis Sipiorski
Peter Tokofsky
Erika Nelson
Jim Draeger
Dennis Montagna
Jason Church
Helen Ingalls
Mike McFalls
Jon Prown
Anne Smart Martin
Fred Scruton

Jenenne Whitfield
Emily Smith
Isaiah Zagar
Dr. Liz Rex
Jo Farb Hernandez
Bill Swislow
John Foster
Peter Tokofsky
Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe
Shannon Stratton
Heather Hart
Raechell Smith
Michelle Grabner
Brett Littman
Rita Barros
Randall Morris




Registration information coming the end of February.



An NCPTT Divine Disorder and partnership of National Center for Preservation Technology and Training, Kohler Foundation Inc. and the John Michael Kohler Arts Center.